Worst Company Ever

December 1, 2006 at 1:07 am 1 comment

I bought a Sony laptop for my mom 4 months ago. I went all out and got her a great system. I made sure it was light, but had a big screen. I gave her tons of RAM and a big hard drive. I spent a tony of money and went with Sony because I had my own Viao about 3 years ago and it was a thing of beauty.

To make a long story short, it was the worst purchase I have ever made. The thing broke down 3 weeks after I got it, and since I had bought my mom a full warranty, we sent it back. The thing is Sony doesn’t sell its own warranty, but rather re-sells some third party crap. So, after 3 weeks get the computer back and though the initial problem was fixed a new one had emerged.

I sent the Viao back again and it took them 5 weeks to send it back. My mom got it back yesterday and the problem wasn’t fixed. What could they possibly have done for 5 weeks with a computer? They sure as hell didn’t fix it. 

I spent about 4 hours on the phone with Sony today, with the warranty company and I have had zero luck. It doesn’t matter what I do Sony keeps pushing me back to the warranty people and the warranty guys send me back to Sony. Needless to say I am frustrated and I will never buy or recommend another Sony product…

How did such a great company fall so hard (see PS3 for additional examples)?

Entry filed under: Start-up.

Venture Funding – Less is More Excuse My Absence – But I have a Favor to Ask

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Michelle Ford  |  April 6, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    Mike Lynch, the CEO of Autonomy, the UK enterprise search company has go tto be the worst CEO ever. It’s not just that he lies, he’s a bad person. i would even go as far to say that he is the devil!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

Exactly one year ago I set off on the most exciting journey of my life; I started Emerging Demographics Inc (the parent company of HireWorkers.com).

Along the way I was selected as one of the top 20 young entrepreneurs by BusinessWeek.com and the 21st coolest young entrepreneur by Inc. magazine. I have also appeared in ABC7, Telemundo, NPR, and been quoted in StaffingIndustry.com, WorkforceManagment.com, Entrepreneur Magazine, and various other publications.

Over the next few months I will recount some of the stories and lessons learned from building, developing and creating a business from scratch.

LinkedIn Profile

View Eli Portnoy's profile on LinkedIn

The Entrepreneur Network

Feeds

spotplex


