Excuse My Absence – But I have a Favor to Ask

December 1, 2006 at 1:22 am Leave a comment

Firstly, I want to apologize for the long delay in my postings. Things have been pretty busy over the last few weeks. We are working on a complete re-launch of the site and will be unveiling some very cool new features.

One of the hardest things for me as a young entrepreneur is to understand when an initiative needs more time and when it is just not working. The business cycle has been dramatically cut short and now more than ever companies need to be innovating and pushing forward new features at a dizzying speed. That means throwing a lot of things at the wall and seeing what sticks and what doesn’t. That being said, you sometimes need to try throwing the same thing a couple of different times before it sticks, and sometimes you need to try different angles, but mostly you just need to cut your losses and move on. 

As the months go on I feel more comfortable reading the subtle hints that tell you if a feature needs more work and time, of it is just not going to work. But no matter how much experience I accumulate, and no matter how good I get, I will never be good enough.

So if you will allow me, I would like to occasionally blog about features we are considering or are about to roll-out. I would be forever grateful if you share your opinions and comments and let me know if you think the feature will work or if you think we should can it.

Entry filed under: Start-up.

Worst Company Ever Crazy Things You Can Find with Google

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

Exactly one year ago I set off on the most exciting journey of my life; I started Emerging Demographics Inc (the parent company of HireWorkers.com).

Along the way I was selected as one of the top 20 young entrepreneurs by BusinessWeek.com and the 21st coolest young entrepreneur by Inc. magazine. I have also appeared in ABC7, Telemundo, NPR, and been quoted in StaffingIndustry.com, WorkforceManagment.com, Entrepreneur Magazine, and various other publications.

Over the next few months I will recount some of the stories and lessons learned from building, developing and creating a business from scratch.

LinkedIn Profile

View Eli Portnoy's profile on LinkedIn

The Entrepreneur Network

Feeds

spotplex


