Incorporating: The First Real Decision

August 2, 2006 at 1:25 am 1 comment

After powering up the “corporate” computer, I had a strategic decision to make – what to name the new company.

The initial thought was to name the business something simple and web 2.0ish. As much as I like the name google or zazzle, the hope was to start a business 2 business enterprise and our name had to sound somewhat corporate. I settled on the name Emerging Demographics, because I believed that our core mission (which would end up shifting a few times over the next few months) was to deliver value to a very fast growing and maturing demographic (Hispanics).

I then immediately incorporated. I considered using an actual lawyer for this process, but after investigating the subject I came to realize that the process was fairly simple and I could save significant money by utilizing an online service, such as Legalzoom.com

It was then that I registered the domain, set-up my email and sent out an email to my wife from my new account. I was officially a C.E.O. (or at least my email said so).

Entry filed under: Start-up.

The Ups and Downs of Starting A Business Writing a Business Plan

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dennis  |  August 8, 2006 at 12:35 am

    I did the same thing. It was less than $100 do incorporate in Florida. We have no capital to invest in a lawyer at this point..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

Exactly one year ago I set off on the most exciting journey of my life; I started Emerging Demographics Inc (the parent company of HireWorkers.com).

Along the way I was selected as one of the top 20 young entrepreneurs by BusinessWeek.com and the 21st coolest young entrepreneur by Inc. magazine. I have also appeared in ABC7, Telemundo, NPR, and been quoted in StaffingIndustry.com, WorkforceManagment.com, Entrepreneur Magazine, and various other publications.

Over the next few months I will recount some of the stories and lessons learned from building, developing and creating a business from scratch.

LinkedIn Profile

View Eli Portnoy's profile on LinkedIn

The Entrepreneur Network

Feeds

spotplex


